APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION AS A LAW STUDENT 
INSTRUCTIONS AND  SEQ CHAPTER \h \r 1GENERAL INFORMATION 

This is not an Exam Application and the applicant must submit an Application Update for the Exam in which they intend to sit. 
This application is set up specifically for law students filing an application to register as a law student with the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions.  Timely filing of your application will save $200.00 in fees.  If you do not complete and file this application within the appropriate time period, you will be required to file a “regular” Bar Examination Application for the examination which you wish to apply and pay the appropriate fees at that time.

October 1st:
The deadline to file an Application for Registration as a Law Student. This application is to be completed and filed on or before October 1st following the completion of the 1st two semesters of law school.

Fee:

$100.00 Plus $25.00 Application Fee

Late Registration:
Applicants may file a “Late” Application for Registration as a Law Student. 

March 1st:
Preceding the February exam for which the applicant intends to sit.

August 1st:
Preceding the September exam for which the applicant intends to sit.

Fee:

$300.00 Plus $25.00 Application Fee
1.  
Application Fee:  $25.00 
This fee can be combined with your Exam Application fee.  Please note that all fees paid to the MS Board of Bar Admissions can be paid by money order, cashier’s check/certified check, exact cash, or online with any major credit card. PERSONAL OR BUSINESS CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED. DO NOT COMBINE A VARIETY OF FEES USING MULTIPLE CREDIT CARDS TO YIELD A REQUISITE APPLICATION FEE. 
Fees are non-refundable and must be submitted at the time you file your application.  
2.  
Eligibility requirement – J.D. from ABA approved Law School:   To be eligible to sit for the Mississippi Bar Exam, you must have received your Juris Doctorate degree from an American Bar Association provisionally or fully approved law school. 

3.
Typed Answers:   Your answers on the bar application must be completed using a computer.

4. 
Photo:
You must upload a photo to your online Application.

5.
Physical Signed/Notarized Copy:  In addition to submitting your Application online, you must also submit a physical, signed, notarized copy of the full application to the MS Board of Bar Admissions by the prescribed deadlines. DO NOT PRINT FRONT AND BACK.
6.
Fingerprints: You must include your fingerprints with your physical signed/notarize application. Your local police or sheriff's department generally provides this service. The MBBA office can provide fingerprint cardstock if needed.
Retain a copy of everything you file with the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions (MBBA).  

7. 
Where to File:   Submit your application, fee, and supporting documents to:

    
U.S. MAIL DELIVERY:

            OVERNIGHT OR HAND DELIVERY:

    
MS Board of Bar Admissions

MS Board of Bar Admissions 

            P. O. Box 1449



Gartin Justice Building
            Jackson, MS 39215-1449


450 High Street, Suite 2027










            Jackson, MS 39201

8.
How to Answer Application Questions: Answer all questions fully and frankly. If a question does not apply, so indicate. Do not leave any questions blank unless specifically authorized by the question. 

9.
Complete Answers:  If a question requires you to list information, provide all the information requested. Do not merely refer to attached documents. You must respond to the question as asked. 

10.
Complete Addresses:  Provide complete addresses (including zip codes) where required. 

11.
Signature/acknowledgment:  Once your application has been submitted electronically, you must also submit a physical, signed, notarized copy. Note that your application is a sworn statement and is treated as such.

12.
National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) application for Preparation of a Character Report:  Any applicant who has lived outside the State of Mississippi for six (6) months (either consecutively or cumulatively) or longer after his/her eighteenth (18th) birthday (including residence for educational, employment, or military reasons), must complete an application for a Request for Preparation of a Character Report and pay the appropriate fee to the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE).  

If applicable, the NCBE application and payment confirmation form should be submitted to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions when you submit your application and requisite fees.  To complete the NCBE Request for Preparation of a Character Report, please visit http://www.ncbex.org/character-and-fitness.  Support may be reached via the methods listed in the documentation.  
 SEQ CHAPTER \h \r 113.
All communications will be via email.  Please keep your email address current with MBBA and notify MBBA of any change in your contact information.
14. 
MBE Transfer:  If you have previously taken the Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) and you want to utilize your score for the July 2024 Bar Examination, you must have attained the score on an administration of the MBE within the immediately preceding twenty (20) months prior to the bar examination for which you propose to sit. 
You must complete the top half of FORM 8A - Authorization to Utilize Previous MBE Score.  This form should then be submitted directly to the jurisdiction wherein you attained the MBE score, or if the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) performs the score transfer for the jurisdiction, you will need to submit the FORM 8A to the MBBA office with the top half you completed and separately request the score be transferred from NCBE to MBBA by going to their website at http://www.ncbex.org/ncbe-exam-score-services/mbe-score-services/.  If you wish to use a prior MBE score, the FORM 8A and MBE score must be received in the MBBA office from the certifying agency no later than thirty (30) days prior to the bar exam which is June 28, 2024. 
MBE scores prior to February 2023 will not be accepted for transfer.
15. 
 SEQ CHAPTER \h \r 1Test Accommodations:  If you have a disability which requires special assistance or accommodations for the bar exam and you want to request accommodations, you must complete and submit FORM 1: APPLICANT REQUEST FOR TEST ACCOMMODATIONS at the time you file your Exam Application, as well as, all applicable items specified in Sections IV and V of Form 1: Applicant Request for Test Accommodations.  
General Instructions and Test Accommodation Forms 1-7 are available within the link titled Forms, Index Card and Information About Test Accommodations on the MBBA website. Please review the instructions and each form carefully in order to determine which forms you will be required to submit to support your request for accommodations. 
16. 
Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination/MPRE: As a mandatory condition for admission to the Mississippi Bar by examination, each applicant must achieve a scaled score of not less than 75 on the MPRE administered by the NCBE.  This score must be achieved on an administration of the MPRE within twenty-four (24) months before or within twelve (12) months after the date of administration of the Mississippi bar exam at which the applicant achieves a passing result.  It shall be the responsibility of each applicant to register for and take the MPRE in the manner and at the time designated by NCBE and to request that his/her scores be furnished by NCBE to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions. 
If you have not taken or must re-take the MPRE, you may register on-line at http://www.ncbex.org/about-ncbe-exams/mpre/.  
17. 
Standards for Disqualification of Applicant. The Board calls to your attention Rule VIII, Section 6, of the Rules Governing Admission to the Mississippi Bar which sets forth the standards for disqualification of an applicant.  The Board recommends that you review these carefully. 

18. 
Selective Service Registration. You can obtain information on the registration requirements and obtain your registration number at https://www.usa.gov/selective-service.  In brief, men born from March 29, 1957, to December 31, 1959, were never required to register because the registration program was not in operation at the time they turned 18. The requirement to register was reinstated in 1980 and applies to all men born on or after January 1, 1960.

Current Rules Governing Admission to the Mississippi Bar may be viewed at:

https://courts.ms.gov/research/rules/msrulesofcourt/rules_admission_msbar.pdf
Information on the Multistate Performance Test (MPT), Multistate Essay Exam (MEE) and Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) may be viewed at http://www.ncbex.org/about-ncbe-exams/.
Upon complete review of the instructions and application, if you should have any questions, please contact the Board’s office at baradmissions@mssc.state.ms.us.
BAR REVIEW INFORMATION
THE MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF BAR ADMISSIONS HAS NO AFFILIATION AND DOES NOT ENDORSE ANY BAR REVIEW COURSE.  (You will need to check with each Bar Review to obtain the current fees and review the information they provide.  Fees are subject to change at their discretion.  None of these fees are payable to MBBA.)

BAR/BRI REVIEW COURSE   


1-800-950-7277


 www.barbri.com
KAPLAN - P.M.B.R./MBE REVIEW

1-800-523-0777


" 
https://www.kaptest.com/bar-exam


REED’S MULTISTATE BAR REVIEW, INC.


1-800-852-3926


www.ReedBarReview.com
AMERIBAR BAR REVIEW

1-800-529-2651

www.ameribar.com
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